12
Dec
08

Amazing Grace

I just finished watching the movie Amazing Grace.  It is the story of how William Wilberforce worked to eradicate slavery from Britain. I’m sure it has its artistic deficiencies, but I am no film critic. The story was incredibly moving. I found myself welled up with emotion several times because of admiration for this man who devoted many years of his life to such a cause. It is a story that causes one to question whether or not he has the courage to live for something truly greater than himself and not compromise for a life of comfort and ease. Also, to ask: can one man make a difference? Can one common man, one pathetically average man make a difference?  He was a man of wealth and influence, thus having a platform for persuading persons to the cause. I believe in our day, even a common man can make a difference. I can sit at my table with my laptop and while listening to the rain outside disseminate my most passionate thoughts to anyone who would take the time to read them.  But, more than a platform, in our day, a man must have a cause.

0 Responses to “Amazing Grace”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


