27
Jan
09

from one kid to two

Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

When I became a father the first time, it was a Copernican Revolution in my life. My thought process, sleep pattern, approach to home security, every facet of life changed. My world went from revolving around me, to me and Tara, to me and Tara and Nate in such a short amount of time. With Zak being added to the McDaniel clan, I am witnessing a similar revolution in Nate, our two year old. Never before has his mother divided so much of her time between him and another. Yet, I am noticing a change in his affection for me. Of course he has always been fond of “dad”, but now, when mother is distracted by another, dad is suddenly a great second fiddle. I expected his jealousy to arise, but it doesn’t so much when I am around. Tara had an episode of Nate’s jealous wrath today while I was at work. But, when I am home, he seems content to allow me to show him attention when mom’s is elsewhere.

Tara is a wonderful mom. She immediatelyacted as if Zak had always been part of our lives. She works hard to still give approriate attention to Nate as well. It’s a little more difficult for me with Zak. I have made sure to hold him and give him a bottle at times and “bond” with him when possible. But, my parenting attention has changed in the way it is now focused on Nate. Approaching two and a half, he is more and more willing to wrestle and test his strength, which is one of the things I looked forward to most when I thought about being a father. I enjoy teaching him how to make espresso in the machine. I enjoy helping him ride his bike or scooter and put on his helmet without pinching his neck. 

Although the frustrations of parenting are doubled and the marital stress that kids bring is doubled, but the love is doubled and the joy is doubled.  it may be cliche, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t true. I love coming home to my family. I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

1 Response to “from one kid to two”


  1. January 28, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Touching post, Kyle! It makes me all the more eager for my little one to arrive!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Find me on Facebook


