02
Mar
09

Blessing

I think in America we have a skewed understanding of God’s blessing on our lives. We believe that God’s blessing and the American dream are synonymous.  I simply don’t see ‘healthy, wealthy, and wise’ as a promise for followers of Jesus. If we can’t pay our mortgage, does that mean God has removed his blessing from our lives?  What about believers in other countries who are suffering simply because they dare to believe in Jesus?  Are they not recipients of Divine blessing?  Is it possible that i can be homeless, hungry, and ill and yet still live in God’s blessing? 

However, if I have a roof over my head, food in my belly, and no reason to see a doctor, I recognize that this is all because of the blessing of God.  He sends rain on the just and the unjust. He dispenses possessions to one and not another for his own good reasons that may or may not be tied to our obedience to him.

So, material abundance is a sign of God’s blessing, but not equal to it. What is blessing? That he is our God and I am his child irrespective to my possessions, estate, or power.

2 Responses to “Blessing”


  1. 1 Michael
    March 2, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I completely agree. Often Kristen and I look at everything God has given us and are completely humbled. There are so many Christians in this world that have nothing, or even less. I know that there has been nothing that we have done to deserve all that we have. Somehow God decided that we were going to have what we have. It puts a lot of responsibility on us to be good stewards of what we have and recognize that it is ALL God’s and we need to be sensitive to Him so that we do with it what He wants.

  2. 2 Bob
    March 2, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    To come to the point that I grasped Christ counted me worthy to die for, regardless of my ability to be worthy, was a journey for me. I figure if God never does another thing for me, that’s blessing beyond all I could hope for. God is not Santa, on high to dispense to us our whims. Nor does He need to gather counsel from me before He does what ever is in His plan. I am spending a lot more time trying to make sure that as much as I possibly can, I submit to His will and be obedient. Then I know that no matter what comes, I am walking in His blessing, and the rest will shake out the way it’s supposed to.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


