21
Mar
09

our trip to the zoo

Some friends of ours invited us to go to the zoo with them yesterday. They borrowed a sweet conversion van so all of us could ride together and picked us up at 7:15 a.m.  We stopped at the Easton Diner for breakfast and made it to the zoo around 11:00 a.m.  We had to park at the back entrance and as we walked past the lions and tigers, there were these dual overhead cables with platforms about every 100 ft.  As I studied this site trying to figure out what it was, I saw and orangutan climbing on it.  Then a few minutes later, another. It was awesome.  They followed  the cables right over our heads.

The zoo is huge and best of all it is free. They have some great exhibits and tons of animals. It’s like Noah’s Ark decided to unload there.   There was only one bad experience. We went to see the elephants.  As we were watching, one of them decided to empty her bladder. Then, without warning, the other elephant stuck it’s trunk up the first ones butt and pulled out a glob of poo.  It was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen in my life. Then, just to  make sure I was thoroughly disgusted, it began to eat it.  This is a story so gross I had to blog about it for therapeutic reasons.

Fortunately, I have a terrible memory and on the way home I was hungry.  To my delight, so was everyone else so we stopped at Red, Hot, and Blue in Annapolis.  We had some tasty wings and then I had the beef brisket.  Tara had the ribs and it all was rockin’. We got home a little before 10:00 p.m.  A delightful day, the weather was good, the boys were good, the zoo was good, the food was good, the company was good.  I love my life, but there are still some tough days. Yesterday was a good one, and I recognize it as a gift from God.

Here is Nate with our friends:
Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

0 Responses to “our trip to the zoo”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 3 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


