22
Mar
09

the arm of the Lord

“He is Enough” was the main point for my sermon this Sunday. In a time when so many are struggling in their relationships, finances, and health in our church, I felt like it was the message God wanted me to give to his people.  In the sermon, I mentioned the “Arm of the Lord” theme from Isaiah. It is a metaphor for God’s strength and redemption as well as his ability to execute justice. Additionally, it is a prophecy about Jesus, who is the Arm of the Lord revealed for the redemption of God’s people.  I love this imagery that God gives us about himself.  It isn’t a warm fuzzy image; it is a rough and powerful image – one that I think men really identify with and are challenged by.  As a man, I find great security in knowing my Father is strong and not afraid to flex his muscles in the face of his enemy.

 

I was asked what verses I was referring to, so I thought I would post them:

 Isaiah 17:5
It will be as when a reaper gathers the standing grain and harvests the grain with his arm— as when a man gleans heads of grain in the Valley of Rephaim. 
 

 

Isaiah 17:5

It will be as when a reaper gathers the standing grain and harvests the grain with his arm— as when a man gleans heads of grain in the Valley of Rephaim.
The LORD will cause men to hear his majestic voice and will make them see his arm coming down with raging anger and consuming fire, with cloudburst, thunderstorm and hail.
 
Isaiah 30:32
Every stroke the LORD lays on them with his punishing rod will be to the music of tambourines and harps, as he fights them in battle with the blows of his arm.
 
Isaiah 40:10
See, the Sovereign LORD comes with power, and his arm rules for him. See, his reward is with him, and his recompense accompanies him. 
 
 
 Isaiah 48:14
“Come together, all of you, and listen: Which of the idols has foretold these things? The LORD’s chosen ally will carry out his purpose against Babylon; his arm will be against the Babylonians.
 
When I came, why was there no one? When I called, why was there no one to answer? Was my arm too short to ransom you? Do I lack the strength to rescue you? By a mere rebuke I dry up the sea, I turn rivers into a desert; their fish rot for lack of water and die of thirst. 
Isaiah 51:5
My righteousness draws near speedily, my salvation is on the way, and my arm will bring justice to the nations. The islands will look to me and wait in hope for my arm.
 
Isaiah 51:9
Awake, awake! Clothe yourself with strength, O arm of the LORD; awake, as in days gone by, as in generations of old. Was it not you who cut Rahab to pieces, who pierced that monster through?
 
Isaiah 52:10
The LORD will lay bare his holy arm in the sight of all the nations, and all the ends of the earth will see the salvation of our God.
 
Isaiah 53:1
Who has believed our message and to whom has the arm of the LORD been revealed? 
 
Isaiah 59:1
Surely the arm of the LORD is not too short to save, nor his ear too dull to hear.
 
Isaiah 59:16
He saw that there was no one, he was appalled that there was no one to intervene; so his own arm worked salvation for him, and his own righteousness sustained him. 
 
Isaiah 60:4
“Lift up your eyes and look about you: All assemble and come to you; your sons come from afar, and your daughters are carried on the arm. 
 
Isaiah 62:8
The LORD has sworn by his right hand and by his mighty arm: “Never again will I give your grain as food for your enemies, and never again will foreigners drink the new wine for which you have toiled; 
 
Isaiah 63:5
I looked, but there was no one to help, I was appalled that no one gave support; so my own arm worked salvation for me, and my own wrath sustained me.
 
Isaiah 63:12
who sent his glorious arm of power to be at Moses’ right hand, who divided the waters before them, to gain for himself everlasting renown,
 
 
 
 
0 Responses to “the arm of the Lord”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Find me on Facebook


