20
Apr
09

diet, exercise, and…climate change?

I am no small lad, at birth I was over ten pounds.  Since October I’ve been hitting the gym pretty consistently and intermittently eating right.  I have lost a few pounds, but it’s a long and slow process. I’m committed though. Then I read a couple articles(here and here) about a scientific report from across the pond. It basically says that I am responsible for global warming because I am fat.  Here is my understanding of what the studies say:

Fat people = More food consumption = the need for more food production = more energy needed and greenhouse gases produced

Also, fat people drive cars more often = more fuel being burned

I would add to this:

More weight in a car = worse gas mileage = more fuel being burned

In one article it was noted: “We are not just pointing the finger at fat people. All populations are getting fatter and it has an impact on the environment.” This causes me to ask several other questions. Is it not simply the amount, but what is in our food that is making people worldwide fatter? Why does research seem to prove stuff “other” people are doing. Do the researchers and media pushers not eat, use electricity, and drive cars? Of course they do.

Also, although I am a proponent of environmental stewardship and preservation, I am interested in studies that continually show the ubiquitous nature of climate change. It seems to touch every issue; economics, health, certainly science. Something as pervasive as climate change seems suspicious to me, does that make me a conspiracy theorist? Perhaps it simply makes me an idiot because anyone who questions the status quo is usually deemed as such.

0 Responses to “diet, exercise, and…climate change?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


