06
May
09

Nuisance

Last night, for the first time in my life, it occurred to me that I hate asking people for help.  I’m still exploring this because I don’t quite know why. I have this idea that when I call someone it is an interruption or a nuisance.  I think that is why I like text messages and emails.  They are less intrusive than a phone call.

Additionally, even when people offer to help, I feel like I am bothering them. My parents are somewhat like this so that is probably where I learned the behavior.  Conversely, when I offer to help others, I really mean it and I do want to help them. It bothers me when I know they need help, I offer it, and they don’t accept it.  It’s ironic though because that means that I would bother myself if I were to offer me help (got that?). 

I guess I thought this significant to mull over because it relates to this question: Am I robbing people an opportunity to serve God because I won’t let them serve me, as the avenue of service?  I desire to not be a nuisance, but I have a greater desire that people (including myself) would honor God with their lives.  One way we follow Jesus is serving.

1 Response to “Nuisance”


  1. 1 cindy
    May 7, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    right there w/you on this one kyle


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


