15
May
09

Resolve: Play with your kids

There are days that I feel drained. Some days all I want to do is sit on the couch and watch TV when I get home from work. Yet, having kids has caused a delimma in this desire. I can’t believe how fast my boys are growing. I feel like they are aging even faster than I am. As a result, I deeply wish to spend as much time with them as I can.

Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

I have to consciously, forcefully change my attitude in the drive home.  If I do not, I will miss out on the blessing of children that God has given and trade it for lazy and selfish indulgence.  I desire to ‘veg-out’ but my deeper desire is to love my kids and my wife in a way that honors both them and God. 

Which is more rewarding, to sit on the couch and watch TV, or to build, run, dig, ride, read, throw, sing, dance, cook, clean, hide, seek, listen, and talk with my family?  I resolve to live my life to maximize the blessings God has given, not to squander them.

0 Responses to “Resolve: Play with your kids”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


