16
May
09

Resolve: Exercise

I have never been a small lad. I weighed like 135 lbs when I was in the sixth grade.  I played sports in high school and trimmed down, but I packed it on my freshman year of college.  It has always been a struggle for me. I’m not an emotional eater. But I always say, “McDaniel’s don’t eat, we feed”.  I just get hungry. When Tara was pregnant with Nate she complained, “All I want is hamburgers and I’m hungry all the time, my clothes are tight, and I’m always hot.”  I sympathetically told her, “Welcome to my world”.  The difference is I don’t lose the weight after nine months and the hunger remains.

Just the other day I visited a woman whose husband is in a nursing home.  He is 73, which is pretty young to be in a nursing home.  He has almost no leg function and is a pretty big guy, so she can’t take care of him.  My grandpa and now my dad have poor circulation in their legs.  After talking with this woman, I realized more than ever, I need to take care of my body.

I made a goal in October to go to the gym at least three times a week.  Since then, I have failed about 7 weeks. But, that means i have had some success as well. It’s no fun and its hard to schedule the time.  But…I must go.  God has given me a great body, I’m sure most of you would agree, so I need to take care of it.  In the Bible, the body is the temple of the Holy Spirit that endwells those of us who follow Jesus and the body is to be used as an instrument or tool to impact the world for Jesus.  We can leverage the way God made us to have an eternal impact on people’s lives. We can worship God or sin against God with our bodies.  Moderation or gluttony. Discipline or drunkenness.  Devotion or laziness. All these options lie before us. 

I once heard Steven Furtick say, “I don’t have to die when I’m 33 just because Jesus did.”  I agree and I was seriously challenged by that. I can allow my health to get in the way of serving God and people, or I can allow it to be an asset in that service. 

I resolve to live my life to maximize the blessings God has given, not to squander them.

0 Responses to “Resolve: Exercise”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


