13
Jan
10

help for Haiti

By now most of you have probably heard of the catastrophic earthquake that rocked Haiti yesterday. When this sort of thing happens, my heart is heavy, but I often wonder what can I do to help when I am another world away.  Also, I think of the amount of money that I spend on frivolous luxuries and I am deeply convicted that I don’t do enough for people like these. 

Proverbs 21:13 “If a man shuts his ears to the cry of the poor, he too will cry out and not be answered”

James 1:27 “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”

I am thankful for organizations like Samaritan’s Purse. You can give here to help89 cents of every dollar we give goes toward ministry specifically.  In case you are wondering, that is VERY GOOD.

Also, donating to UNICEF is a great way to help. 91 cents of every dollar we give here goes to UNICEF programming, not management or organizational expenses  That is a VERY GOOD!

For more information about the wonderful people of Haiti and the tragedy that has befallen them here are some articles that will provide perspective:

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


