30
Sep
10

Levi Joseph McDaniel

This morning my third son was born at 5:25.  We had a terrible time deciding a name, but a few weeks ago, my son Nate made the suggestion of Levi Joseph and we had to use it.  We were eating dinner on our deck one evening and I asked Nate what he thought we should name the baby. He had been watching a kids video about the story of Joseph in the Bible and heard the names of Jacob’s twelve sons. So he decided that Levi Joseph was the name we ought to use.  He has not wavered from that choice except trying to trade Joseph for Naphtali (which we decided against).

Tara started having contractions just after eight o’clock last night. When we got to the hospital, they stopped and we thought for sure they were sending us home. We were the only people there at the time so they let us hang out for a couple of hours to see if she would start contracting again.  She had a few, about 20 minutes apart, but strangely she progressed toward delivery about 2cm in two hours.  So, they decided to admit Tara and she got her epidural at about 4am, they pumped some pitocin in her just after that and Levi was born at 5:25.  She actually had to try to hold him in for a few minutes because the doctor wasn’t prepared for her to progress so quickly. The doctor arrived, pulled up a chair and less than 3o seconds later was cutting the umbilical cord. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to cut it. I thought she would ask me if I wanted to like the doctors that delivered Nate and Zak did, but she didn’t.

Levi was 9 lbs. and 7 oz. (one ounce bigger than Nate and 10 bigger than Zak). He was 20.5 inches long.  I’ve seen different expressions on his face that resemble my sisters, my dad, my father-in-law, my grandpa, myself, and Tara.  It’s so cool to me that he already has his own little discernible personality. He is a conglomeration of his ancestors and yet new, different, and separate from them, just as we all are. It is something that seems so obvious to me in babies, because I don’t expect them to be that animated or have that much personality. I am continually amazed with each of my children on how God designed life.

I wanted to take some time to simply record some of my thoughts about this day. I didn’t do it with my other boys and I regret it, so I figured writing some thoughts down for one kid, is better than none. 

Tara and Levi are still at the hospital tonight and they will hopefully be home tomorrow. I am here with the other boys. I miss them and I am excited about the next phase of our family and life together that has begun today.

1 Response to “Levi Joseph McDaniel”


  1. October 1, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Awesome, bro! Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


