17
Apr
11

my resignation from SonRise church

After three years of ministry at SonRise church, my wife and I have decided to resign effective Sunday, May 1st.  We are not leaving because of animosity or any problems, which is inevitably what some people assume. I thought I would go ahead and clear the air on that one.  We do, however, feel that God is leading us somewhere else. I did not feel like I could look for another job while serving at SonRise and maintain my integrity so we don’t have anything lined up. Some may think this foolish, but it was a decision we were compelled to make. Tara and I have announced this to Pastor Daryl, the Leadership, and the church body so now I am posting it on this blog. We are praying for God to make it very clear to us where he is calling us next.

We do have a few opportunities we are pursuing that have developed over the last week, so we would appreciate your prayers for us. SonRise is the first place where I was a pastor and we have had an excellent 3 years of ministry here. The people of SonRise are some of the most loving and generous that I have encountered in my life. Pastor Daryl has invested a ton in my ministry over the last few years and has given me more opportunities than many pastors would. I am grateful to God for the opportunity to serve here and I am excited about where he is leading Tara and I next!

If you would like to hear my sermon where I announced this to the church and talked about what it means to follow Jesus, you can listen here.

0 Responses to “my resignation from SonRise church”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

  • Took Nate hunting for the first time today. We didn't see anything but at least we looked cool. instagram.com/p/vbFNAxmFG6/ 2 years ago
  • Today was @TaraMcDaniel's official spring celebration...aka I shaved my beard. 3 years ago
  • my kids don't know we are taking them to a hotel in OC with a pool today. They are gonna lose their minds. 3 years ago
  • Levi just realized the super bowl is a footbal game. He's not happy. 3 years ago
  • I'm thankful for redneck church members with extra monster truck rally tickets. 3 years ago

Archives

Find me on Facebook


