10
Jan
12

help your marriage: read this not that

Mark Driscoll publishes “Real Marriage” in a couple of days and Ed Young publishes “Sexperiment” today. My friend Mike takes issue with the authors here for multiple reasons and I don’t plan on reading these two books. I have the feeling I can get the content of these books from reviews and twitter posts. After all, I don’t understand how Ed Young can write an entire book based on the idea of having sex with your spouse for 7 days in a row, and frankly, I don’t care to find out. It seems odd to me.I’m slightly more inclined to read Driscoll’s book because I have benefitted from some other things he has written and I appreciate many things he has to say. I enjoyed his ebook Pastor Dad.  If you are looking for good books to read to benefit your marriage, I recommend these:

Paul Tripp – What did you Expect? (or on DVD) You can read my post outlining and summarizing this book here.

Lou Priolo – The Complete Husband

Kent Hughes has a chapter on marriage in his book “Disciplines of a Godly Man“, you can read my review of it here.

Don’t waste your time with Driscoll or Young, there are too many good books to read. What books have your read that you have found helpful?

2 Responses to “help your marriage: read this not that”


  1. February 23, 2012 at 11:07 am

    I’ve recently gained a lot from Driscoll’s take on husbands and wives particularly from the Proverbs. I’ve just recently found Priolo…(not sure why I haven’t heard of him before?) Anyway, this focus on Biblical marriage in the Christian Community is encouraging.

  2. 2 Kyle T.
    February 23, 2012 at 11:29 am

    I obviously haven’t read everything Driscoll writes, and I’m confident that some (many?) things he says are fine. My aversion is due to a trend I see some popular teaching like his that may contribute to objectifying women rather than communicating their equality before God as “co-image bearers” and disciples. A godly woman can do more than simply help her husband. However, I do agree with you that focusing on practicing biblical marriage is a good thing! The Priolo book is quite challenging. Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Find me on Facebook


