22
Apr
13

fatherhood, video games, and the outdoors

If you are the father of young boys or teenage boys you seriously need to read this article reflecting on the boys who have acted out so violently in our recent history. The application to fatherhood seems pretty straightforward: If you let your boys play violent video games more than you spend time with them outside, you are messing up. Kids need to be with their dads and they need to be outside.

My 3 boys love to go outside and dig for earthworms around our raised garden beds. Give my kids some shovels and they are good for hours…literally hours. They also love going to the beach, fishing, flying kites, riding bikes and scooters, playing soccer, squirting the garden hose at anything, jumping in mud puddles, playing tag, and swinging.

We have limited our kids involvement in video games mainly because they hinder cognitive development. We have also seen from the exposure they’ve had to video games that they become addicted to them quickly and playing the games changes their moods. I don’t need studies to prove this to me, I see it in my own kids.

My kids need to be outside and they need me to do stuff with them outside. I don’t remember much of my childhood. It’s almost weird how little I remember. But I do remember fishing with my dad. 

0 Responses to “fatherhood, video games, and the outdoors”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Find me on Facebook


